The Ministry of Defense of the Republic of Cyprus, focused on strengthening Bilateral Relations, has developed cooperation in areas of common interest both with countries in the region and with many European and other countries. In addition, it has concluded Bilateral Agreements or Memoranda of Understanding on Defense Cooperation with Egypt, Armenia, France, the UK, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, the Netherlands and Serbia, while the process of signing similar Bilateral Agreements with other countries is underway.


In this context of military cooperation with the armed forces of foreign states, bilateral Defense Cooperation Programs have been signed with the above countries and are being implemented. The participation of the members of our Armed Forces in joint exercises and training programs in Cyprus or abroad, as well as exchanges of visits are an important development and success of our Defense Diplomacy, whilst at the same time, the operational readiness of the National  Guard is strengthened.


Moreover, the Ministry of Defense has promoted Trilateral Cooperation programs aiming at strengthening peace, stability and security in the Eastern Mediterranean. As a result, Trilateral Cooperation Programs have been established between Cyprus, Greece and Israel; Cyprus, Greece and Egypt and Cyprus, Greece and Armenia. In addition, collaboration with other neighboring countries such as Jordan and Lebanon are also planned. The tripartite cooperation programs include joint exercises and training between the Armed Forces of the 3 countries, without excluding the participation of additional partner countries.


In addition, our active defense diplomacy implemented through accredited Defense Attaches (DA’s), strengthens the wider foreign policy of the Republic of Cyprus. For this purpose, DA’s have been appointed in France with parallel accreditation in Italy, in Russia with parallel accreditation in Armenia, in the UK with parallel accreditation in Ireland, in Egypt with parallel accreditation in Jordan, Israel and the USA.


It is noteworthy to mention that 26 countries have accredited DA’s in the Republic of Cyprus such as Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Egypt, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Lebanon, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, the UK, Ukraine, and the USA.